Scouts BSA

The Scouts BSA program is for boys and girls ages 11-17. Scouts are organized into groups called patrols, and the patrols make up a Troop.

Service, community engagement, and leadership development become increasingly important parts of the program as youth lead their own activities and work their way toward earning Scouting’s highest rank, Eagle Scout.

While there is guidance from experienced leaders, Scouts take their own lead, learning new skills and exploring places they’ve never been as they dive into the world of outdoor adventure. With a spirit of teamwork, they pack up their Scout gear and their sense of adventure, and dive into the learning and excitement that comes from being in Scouts BSA.

Scouts BSA has a lot to offer, but don’t let the 135+ merit badges scare you away. With the exposure to a uniquely hands-on learning experience through earning merit badges that reflect each youth’s budding interests, they unlock a world of discovery around them, forge their path for the future and gain leadership skills and confidence to excel in life and in the world at large.

Outdoor Activities:
  • Weekend activities:  hiking, camping, canoeing, biking, caving, climbing, shooting sports, cleanup days, work days, and more
  • Camporees: camping with other troops, often involving earning merit badges or competition using Scouting skills and knowledge
  • Summer camps: weeklong camps with troops learning outdoor skills and earning merit badges
  • Scouting shows: gala events demonstrating to the public how Scouting serves youth in the community
  • National and World Jamborees: camping events held at four-year intervals where Scouts and leaders from the BSA or the World Scouting Association come together

Learn more about Scouts BSA at the BSA national website.

Scouts BSA Troops

UnitLocationZip CodeTroop Meeting Day/TimeUnit ContactEmail AddressPhone Number
Troop 17Durham Lions Club, 1850 Hillandale Rd, Durham, NC27705Mondays, 7:15pmLynn Cherrylynn@cherryrealtync.com(919) 381 - 9764
Troop 39BUniversity United Methodist Church, 150 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC27514Wednesdays, 7:30pm - 9:00pmWes Weaverwaweaver2003@yahoo.com(919) 201-2684
Troop 39GUniversity United Methodist Church, 150 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC27514Wednesdays, 7:30pm - 9:00pmLaura Philpotljphilpot@gmail.com(919) 302-3631
Troop 45Hillside Church, 201 Culbreth Rd
Chapel Hill, NC
27516Thursdays, 7:00pm - 8:30pmJames Asbilljasbill@nc.rr.com(919) 801 - 1044
Troop 55White Rock Baptist Church, 3400 Fayetteville St, Durham, NC277071st & 3rd Friday of each month at 6:30 pmEdward Jacob Clemons Jrejdental@aol.com(919) 405 - 2381
Troop 59North Chapel Hill Baptist Church, 7707 NC-86, Chapel Hill, NC27514Wednesdays, 7:00pm - 8:30pmJimmy Workmanworkman@unc.edu(919) 962 - 5637
Troop 93Pittsboro United Methodist Church, 71 West St, Pittsboro, NC27312Wednesdays, 7:00 - 8:30pmWilliam Huneycuttw.huney@yahoo.com(919) 413 - 8116
Troop 108First Calvary Baptist Church, 1311 Morehead Ave, Durham, NC27707TuesdaysLeon Summersleonsummers953@gmail.com(919) 292 - 8894
Troop 137St Joseph AME Church, 2521 Fayetteville St, Durham, NC27707Saturdays
9:00am
Olanda Samplesampleolanda@gmail.com(919) 451 - 2994
Troop 400Aldersgate United Methodist Church, 1320 Umstead Rd #2002, Durham, NC27712Tuesdays, 7:00pmScott Sublett14scott.sublett@gmail.com(919) 389 - 6635
Troop 401Creedmoor United Methodist Church, 214 Park Ave, Creedmoor, NC27522Tuesdays, 6:30 - 8:00 pmTerry Allen Hallmatchbook68@gmail.com(919) 528 - 6678
Troop 405St Matthew Catholic Church, 1001 Mason Rd, Durham, NC27712Mondays, 7:00pmMatthew Jenksmjenks2@gmail.com(919) 452 - 2059
Troop 411Union Baptist Church, 904 N Roxboro St, Durham, NC27701Thursdays, 6:30pmStancil Meredith Clarkpbqclark@aol.com(919) 452 - 5249
Troop 412Trinity Ave Presbyterian Church, 927 W Trinity Ave, Durham, NC27701Mondays, 7:00pmKenneth Pennutokpennuto@outlook.com(919) 768 - 2100
Troop 412Trinity Ave Presbyterian Church, 927 W Trinity Ave, Durham, NC27701Michael Garrettgarrettmichaelm@gmail.com(919) 614 - 7232
Troop 416Banks United Methodist Church, 2632 NC Highway 96, Franklinton NC27525Tuesday Nights at 7pm to 830 pmCraig Kirkseyckirksey@rudylhawkinselectrical.com(919) 488 - 4081
Troop 424Immaculate Conception Catholic Church, 810 W Chapel Hill St, Durham, NC27701Mondays,
7:00pm
Jimmy Smedleyjimmy.smedley@gmail.com(919) 294 - 0177
Troop 438Hillsborough United Methodist Church, 130 W Tryon St, Hillsborough, NC27278Tuesdays, 7:00 - 8:30pmBrad Moorebmooresuccessful@yahoo.com(919) 643 - 3044
Tropp 440Watts Street Baptist Church, 800 Watts St, Durham, NC27701MondaysCharles Madison Thompson Jrccauto1@frontier.com(919) 220 - 5633
Troop 449New Hope Presbyterian Church, 4701 NC-86, Chapel Hill, NC27516Tuesdays, 7:15 - 8:30pmThomas Fischertfischer7117@gmail.com(919) 929 - 5333
Troop 451Westminster Presbyterian Church, 3639 Old Chapel Hill Rd, Durham, NC27707Tuesdays, 7:30 - 9:00pmJeff Harrisjeff@bullcityscouting.com(919) 307-6457
Troop 456Westminster Presbyterian Church, 3639 Old Chapel Hill Rd, Durham, NC27707Thursdays,
7:00pm
Andrea Sumnerasumnerscout@gmail.com(919) 688 - 4649
Troop 461Epworth United Methodist Church, 3002 Hope Valley Rd, Durham, NC27707Tuesdays, 7:00pmCasey Jenkinscjenkins2002@gmail.com(919) 599 - 5925
Troop 486Christus Victor Lutheran ELCA, 1615 NC-54, Durham, NC27713Mondays, 7:00 - 8:30pmJohn Irelandscoutmaster@troop486.org(919) 641 - 8416
Troop 505American Legion Post 6, currently meeting at Church of the Holy Family, 200 Hayes Rd, Chapel Hill, NC27517Wednesdays, 7:00 - 8:30pmJonathan David Johnsonscoutmaster.505@gmail.com(919) 818 - 3989
Troop 605First Presbyterian Church, 222 Young St, Henderson, NC27536Mondays, 7:00 - 8:30 pmCarl Rohrcarlrrohr@gmail.com(252) 204 - 0705
Troop 629Masonic Home for Children, 600 College St, Oxford, NC27565Reid Danielrdaniel@butnernc.org(919) 691-0095
Troop 637Oxford United Methodist Church, 105 W McClanahan St, Oxford, NC Temporary meeting place St. Stephen's Episcopal Church outdoor Pavilion across the street, next to Fire Department.27565Mondays, 7:00 - 8:30 pmLloyd A Davisldavis637@yahoo.com(919) 691-4121
Troop 820St. Thomas More Catholic Church, 940 Carmichael St, Chapel Hill, NC27514Thursdays, 7:30pm - 9:00pmEd Bedfordebedforde@gmail.com(919) 271 - 3872
Troop 822Union Grove United Methodist Church, 6407 Union Grove Church Rd, Hillsborough, NC27278Tuesdays, 7:00pm - 8:30pmDavid Lawdlaws@me.com(919) 972 - 1888
Troop 835BAmity United Methodist Church, 825 N Estes Dr, Chapel Hill, NC27514Wednesdays, 7:30pm - 9:00pmBrandon Charles Rectorrectormsw@gmail.com(919) 960 - 3384
Troop 835GAmity United Methodist Church, 825 N Estes Dr, Chapel Hill, NC27514Wednesdays, 7:30pm - 9:00pmRuth HeatonBluishHouse@gmail.com(919) 929 - 4133
Troop 845Carrboro United Methodist Church, 200 Hillsborough Rd, Carrboro, NC27510Thursdays, 7:30pm - 8:30pmJoseph Nixonjosephpnixon@gmail.com(919) 667 - 8222
Troop 880Friends of Mukhanyo, Durham, NCThursdaysKeith Brownktb1590@gmail.com(919) 451 - 1006
Troop 900Goldston United Methodist Church, 185 Hillcrest Ave, Goldston, NC27252MondaysPete Lagenorpete@lagenor.com(919) 837 - 5207
Troop 911Silk Hope Ruritan Club, 4221 Silk Hope Rd, Siler City, NC27344As needed on Monday nights, 7:00 pmArlene Baker Cheekbakeram@att.net(919) 362 - 1125
Troop 924First United Methodist Church, 1101 W Raleigh St, Siler City, NC27344Tuesdays, 6:30-8:00 pmErnest Leland Greene IIIle@peaktruss.com(919) 742 - 9242
Troop 951Evergreen United Methodist Church, 11098 US Hwy 15 501 N, Chapel Hill, NC27517Tuesdays, 7:00pm - 8:30pmClay Revelsclayrevels@gmail.com(919) 929 - 9535